مجموعات BPL

Libby & Library2Go (أوفردرايف)

قم بتنزيل عناوين الكتب الإلكترونية أو الكتب الصوتية لقراءتها أو الاستماع إليها على جهاز كمبيوتر منزلي أو قارئ إلكتروني أو جهاز محمول. تحتوي هذه المجموعة على الكثير من العناوين الجديدة وهي متاحة لسكان بورنبي فقط. بمجرد تنزيل تطبيق Libby ، سيرشدك Libby خلال عملية الإعداد وسيقدم لك جميع الميزات الجديدة ، بما في ذلك الوصول إلى مجموعة Overdrive الكاملة لمكتبات Burnaby العامة. أفضل جزء؟ كل هذا مجاني ولا توجد رسوم متأخرة!

كل ما تحتاجه هو بطاقة مكتبة مرتبطة بعنوان Burnaby ، واتصال بالإنترنت ، وجهاز متوافق. Libby متاح لأجهزة Android و iOS (iPhone / iPad / iPod touch) و Windows 10.
قم بتنزيل تطبيق Libby بواسطة Overdrive: i
OS | ذكري المظهر
قم بزيارة BPL's Teen Collection @ Overdrive: https://burnaby.overdrive.com/library/teens
الوصول: مع بطاقة مكتبة Burnaby العامة.

مكتبة السحابة

مجموعة من الروايات المصورة والكتب الإلكترونية والأدب الكلاسيكي ومقاطع الفيديو الوطنية الجغرافية وموارد المعلمين والكتب الصوتية ، مثالية لطلاب المدارس الإعدادية والثانوية. يتميز بنص قابل للتعديل على الإنترنت وسرد صوتي كامل. يتم تمييز الجمل أثناء قراءتها وتتحول الصفحات تلقائيًا. هذه القراءة على طول الكتب رائعة للقراء المترددين وتساعد أيضًا طلاب ESL على تطوير المهارات اللغوية. احصل على وصول غير محدود إلى هذه المجموعة الرائعة اليوم!
الوصول: مع بطاقة مكتبة Burnaby العامة.

RBdigital

منصة تقدم أكثر من 6000 كتابًا صوتيًا قابلاً للتنزيل (مجموعة OneClickdigital سابقًا) وأكثر من 400 مجلة (مجموعة Zinio سابقًا). قم بتنزيل العناوين على جهاز محمول باستخدام تطبيق RBdigital ، أو قم بالدفق على جهاز الكمبيوتر الخاص بك. قم بإنشاء حساب RBdigital أولاً قبل تنزيل التطبيق ، واحصل على الدعم من موقعه على الويب.
الوصول: مع بطاقة مكتبة Burnaby العامة.

التعلم الإلكتروني BPL

لغات المانجو

تتوفر دورات اللغة التفاعلية عبر الإنترنت من المنزل وعلى جهازك المحمول. يركز Mango على المحادثات اليومية الشائعة لتعزيز المفردات والنطق والقواعد والفهم الثقافي. اختر من بين 72 لغة ، بالإضافة إلى دورات ESL للمتحدثين بأكثر من 15 لغة مختلفة. قم بتنزيل دليل البدء الخاص بلغات Mango [PDF] . يمكن الوصول إلى لغات Mango على جهاز محمول - راجع قسم Mobile and Apps للحصول على التفاصيل.

الوصول: مع بطاقة مكتبة Burnaby العامة.

Lynda.com
أكثر من 3500 دورة فيديو حول تطوير البرمجيات والأعمال والتصميم والتصوير الفوتوغرافي والمزيد. شهادات الإنجاز المتاحة. (ملاحظة: يمكن لـ Lynda.com استيعاب 150 مستخدمًا في المرة الواحدة. إذا تم إبعادك ، حاول مرة أخرى بعد قليل).

  • MakerSpace: تتضمن البرامج التعليمية الطباعة ثلاثية الأبعاد وتحرير الصوت / الفيديو باستخدام شاشة خضراء والمزيد.

  • التصوير الفوتوغرافي: تقدم lyndaLibrary ما يقرب من 600 دورة للتصوير الفوتوغرافي لجميع مستويات المهارة وجميع الجوانب بما في ذلك Photoshop و iPhoto و Lightroom ، بالإضافة إلى دورات حول كيفية ضبط الكاميرا أو التقاط الصور في الإضاءة المنخفضة.

  • ترميز الكمبيوتر: برمجة الكمبيوتر ولغات البرمجة للراغبين في تعلم كيفية البرمجة.

الوصول: مع بطاقة مكتبة Burnaby العامة.

باستر متوتر

تم تصميم دورات Tense Buster لمتعلمي اللغة الإنجليزية في خمسة مستويات ، من المبتدئين إلى المتقدمين. يتضمن العروض التقديمية والتمارين والاختبارات والنصائح لمساعدة الطلاب على تحسين مهارات القراءة والكتابة والاستماع والتحدث والمفردات والقواعد. يتعلم الطلاب كيفية طرح الأسئلة وإجراء المقارنات والإبلاغ عما سمعوه ، بالإضافة إلى تعلم كيفية وصف الأحداث الماضية والحالية والمستقبلية.

الوصول: في المكتبة وفي المنزل باستخدام بطاقة المكتبة الخاصة بك. يقتصر على ثلاثة مستخدمين متزامنين.

الطريق إلى IELTS

Road to IELTS هي دورة إعداد شاملة عبر الإنترنت طورها المجلس الثقافي البريطاني. يتضمن البرنامج أكثر من 300 نشاط تفاعلي مع ملاحظات فورية ، بالإضافة إلى دروس فيديو وأوراق وهمية. مناسبة لمتعلمي اللغة الإنجليزية الذين يستعدون لامتحان IELTS ، أو ببساطة مهتمين بممارسة مهارات القراءة والكتابة والاستماع والتحدث.
الوصول: مع بطاقة مكتبة Burnaby العامة. يقتصر على ثلاثة مستخدمين متزامنين.

نصيحة حول أساسيات التعلم الرقمي:

التعلم عن بعد / مؤتمرات الفيديو - يقدم جدول المقارنة العملي هذا نظرة عامة كاملة على أدوات التعلم عن بعد في لمحة واحدة. قارن الوظائف الرئيسية ، ومشاركة الشاشة ، كحد أقصى. الحضور ، كحد أقصى. المدة والتوافق عبر Zoom و Google Meet و Facebook و Youtube و Microsoft Teams.

موارد لتعلم اللغة الإنجليزية للمراهقين

المفردات والقواعد

Esl Cyber Listening Lab - يحتوي هذا الموقع على سلسلة من تمارين المفردات الإنجليزية المصممة لإكمالها في 20 دقيقة. يتضمن كل درس الاستماع وتكرار الصوت ، ومسابقة ونشاط المتابعة.

مسابقات سهلة للمفردات بالصور : يقدم هذا الموقع مسابقات مفردات تفاعلية تطلب من الطلاب مطابقة الأسماء والأفعال والصفات مع الصور.

منطقة الدراسة ELC : تعد ELC Study Zone جزءًا من مركز اللغة الإنجليزية بجامعة فيكتوريا. يقدم الموقع قوائم المفردات والتمارين المصنفة في مواضيع تشمل العملات المعدنية الكندية والأثاث وأدوات المطبخ.

رونغ تشانغ : هذا الموقع هو مورد شامل لطلاب اللغة الإنجليزية كلغة ثانية ، ويقدم أدلة إعداد الاختبار وقوائم المفردات والألعاب واستخدام الفعل والمزيد.

TalkEnglish.com : يقدم هذا الموقع عددًا من تمارين الاستماع مصنفة حسب مستويات المهارة المبتدئة والمتوسطة والمتقدمة. يتضمن كل درس اختبارًا ، ولدى الطلاب خيار عرض الحوار أثناء الاستماع.


بي بي سي تعلم اللغة الإنجليزية

تقدم بي بي سي مجموعة من الموضوعات الشائعة التي تحبط متحدثي اللغة الإنجليزية غير الأصليين ، بما في ذلك الكثير من النصائح حول المفردات. متاح (الزاوية اليمنى السفلى) في Afaan Oromoo ، الأمهرية ، البرتغالية البرازيلية ، الغوجاراتية ، الكورية ، التغرينية ، التايلاندية والمزيد!

موارد الكتابة

اللغة الإنجليزية كلغة ثانية: تمارين الجملة المختلطة : يسمح هذا الموقع لطلاب ESL باختبار معرفتهم بالكلمة عن طريق إعادة ترتيب الكلمات المعينة لتشكيل جملة.

اللغة الإنجليزية كلغة ثانية: تمارين الإملاء لمتعلمي اللغة الإنجليزية : في هذه الصفحة ، يمكن لطلاب ESL ممارسة فهمهم للغة الإنجليزية من خلال الاستماع إلى الجمل المنطوقة وكتابة ما يسمعونه.

اللغة الإنجليزية كلغة ثانية: ممارسة كتابة هيكل الجملة
: يسمح هذا الموقع للطلاب باختبار فهمهم للغة الإنجليزية ومهارة الكتابة من خلال إعادة ترتيب الكلمات لتكوين جمل. يجب على الطلاب ليس فقط إعادة ترتيب الكلمات ، ولكن أيضًا استخدام الأحرف المناسبة وعلامات الترقيم.

التطبيقات وموارد الفيديو

ESLvideo
تقدم مقاطع فيديو لجميع مستويات اللغة الإنجليزية ، مع محتوى متنوع بما يكفي لإشراك واهتمام الطلاب من جميع مناحي الحياة والمهن. أفضل ميزة في ESLvideo.com هي أن المحتوى ينشر من قبل المعلمين ، للمعلمين والطلاب. انها مثل تعاونية مورد فيديو ESL. يتم تصنيف مقاطع الفيديو إلى خمسة مستويات من المبتدئين إلى المتقدمين ، ولكن ليس حسب المواضيع أو فئات المحتوى. هذا له فوائده ومزالقه ، لكنه لا يزال يقدم مواد فيديو مفيدة أنشأها المعلمون حول العالم. كما يقدم الفيديو مسابقات من قبل المعلمين و أداة مسابقة الخالق ، لذلك يمكنك بسهولة جعل مسابقات القائم على الفيديو الخاص بك

دوولينجو
يستخدم العديد من الناس في جميع أنحاء العالم Duolingo لتعليم اللغة المستقلة ، ويمكنك بالتأكيد استخدامه لتعليم ELL أيضًا. تحتوي نسخة تعلم اللغة الإنجليزية من Duolingo على دروس تجمع بين مهارات المحادثة والمفردات والتحدث والاستماع. في نهاية كل قسم ، يتم اختبار المستخدم بناءً على مهاراته ، ثم تظهر النتائج الأجزاء التي يتفوق فيها المستخدم وأين يمكنه استخدام المزيد من الممارسة.
iPhone:
Duolingo على Appstore
Android: Duolingo على Google Play

تحدث بالانجليزية!
في هذا التطبيق الفريد ، يستمع المستخدم إلى تسجيلات المتحدثين باللغة الإنجليزية الذين يتحدثون عن مجموعة من المواضيع - مثل مقابلات العمل أو خدمة العملاء. بعد الاستماع إليها عدة مرات كما يشاء ، يقوم المستخدم بعد ذلك بتسجيل نفسه مكررًا العبارة. أخيرًا ، يستطيع المستخدم بعد ذلك مقارنة صوته بصوت التسجيل. تحدث بالانجليزية! هو تطبيق مفيد حقًا لجعل الطلاب يتعلمون ويمارسون التلفظ.
iPhone:
تحدث الإنجليزية! على AppStore
Android: تحدث الإنجليزية! على Google Play

كلمات مع الأصدقاء
هذه اللعبة ليست جيدة فقط لتشجيع تشكيل الكلمات. Words With Friends هي لعبة الكلمات الاجتماعية الممتعة والمجانية حيث يتم اختبار مهارات بناء الكلمات الخاصة بك. يمكن للاعبين تحدي أصدقائهم في ألعاب الكلمات أيضًا.
iPhone:
الكلمات مع الأصدقاء على AppStore
Android: الكلمات مع الأصدقاء على Google Play

كن فضوليًا وكن مبدعًا وكن واعيًا

أداة الشعر في مؤسسة الشعر

ابحث عن القصائد حسب الفئة أو العنوان أو السطر الأول أو المناسبة وابحث عن الشعراء بالاسم أو الفترة الزمنية أو المنطقة الجغرافية. الاستماع إلى ملفات صوتية من القصائد والمحاضرات. بشكل رئيسي أمريكي في المحتوى ومحدود في التغطية الدولية.

مهرجان فانكوفر للكتاب: مسابقة كتابة الشباب (الموعد النهائي: 29 مايو 2020)
المسابقة السنوية لكتابة الشباب مفتوحة لجميع الطلاب المسجلين في الصفوف من 8 إلى 12 في كولومبيا البريطانية. يمكن للمتسابقين تقديم قصص قصيرة خيالية أو غير خيالية. المشاركة مجانية.

مجلس الفيلم الوطني

يضم مجلس الأفلام الوطني في كندا غرفة الفحص عبر الإنترنت أكثر من 3000 فيلم يمكنك بثها مجانًا أو تنزيلها لاستخدامك الشخصي مقابل رسوم رمزية.

الإبحار الوظيفي

يتضمن موقع التوجيه الوظيفي التفاعلي أداة لتقييم مهارات "صانع المطابقة الوظيفي" ، وملفات تعريف مهنية وقائمة واسعة من البرامج الأكاديمية والتدريبية لما بعد المرحلة الثانوية.

الوصول: في المكتبة أو في المنزل باستخدام بطاقة المكتبة الخاصة بك.

فنون وثقافة Google

جولات في 500 من أشهر المتاحف في العالم بما في ذلك MOMA و Met و Palace of Versailles ومعرض لندن الوطني وغيرها الكثير.

حفلات افتراضية

نظرًا لإلغاء المزيد من المهرجانات والعروض والحفلات الموسيقية بسبب إيقاف تشغيل الفيروس التاجي ، ينتقل الموسيقيون من جميع الأنواع إلى المنصات الاجتماعية والمتدفقة للعب مباشرة لمعجبيهم.

قائمة تم تجميعها بواسطة NPR أو تدفقات الصوت والفيديو الحية من جميع أنحاء العالم ، مصنفة حسب التاريخ والنوع.

هل اليوجا

دروس اليوغا الافتراضية المجانية لجميع المستويات المختلفة.

Canva
استخدم ميزة السحب والإفلات المجانية والسهلة من Canva لتصميم ومشاركة عناوين البريد الإلكتروني ومشاركات وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي والشعارات ورسومات مواقع الويب ومشاركتها بسرعة. يمكنك قطع الوسيط ونشر تصميماتك مباشرة على Facebook و Twitter و Pinterest و LinkedIn والمزيد.

موارد COVID-19 (خاص بـ Burnaby / ELL)

Burnaby Coronavirus - الصفحة الرسمية لشبكات الرعاية الأولية لـ Burnaby COVID-19. معلومات عن استراتيجية الاستجابة في بورنبي ومركز اختبار ومعالجة الأقمار الصناعية وعناصر أخرى لمساعدة السكان المحليين على التعامل مع الوباء.
الإنجليزية - العربية - الصينية - التاغالوغية

Wegotchu (جامعة Simon Fraser) مركز موارد وقفة واحدة وأسئلة متداولة مصممة خصيصًا لدعم الشباب دون سن 30 عامًا في التنقل في احتياجاتهم الصحية والاجتماعية خلال COVID-19.

مشروع محو الأمية الصحية COVID-19 - معلومات COVID-19 المترجمة سهلة الوصول إلى أكثر من 30 لغة مختلفة لمساعدة جميع المرضى على معرفة متى وكيف يطلبون الرعاية. يتم إنشاء المواد بالتعاون مع Harvard Health Publishing. "تتم مراجعة جميع موادنا وفحصها من قبل الأطباء وأعضاء هيئة التدريس في كلية الطب في مستشفيات هارفارد."

هذه المعلومات ليست بديلاً عن المشورة الطبية أو التشخيص أو العلاج لأي حالة أو مشكلة صحية. إذا كان لديك أو تشك في أنك تعاني من حالة طبية طارئة ، اتصل برقم 911 أو قم بزيارة قسم الطوارئ في المستشفى في منطقتك. الاعتماد على أي معلومات مقدمة من قبل قسم Burnaby لممارسة الأسرة والتي تظهر على هذا الموقع أو المقدمة فيما يتعلق به على مسؤوليتك الخاصة. ينفي قسم Burnaby لممارسة الأسرة أي ضمان أو مسؤولية تنشأ عن أو فيما يتعلق باستخدام هذا الموقع أو أي موقع آخر يرتبط به هذا الموقع. استخدامك لمواقع الطرف الثالث على مسؤوليتك الخاصة ويخضع لشروط وأحكام الاستخدام لهذه المواقع. يتم توفير المعلومات "كما هي" و "كما هي متوفرة" وقد تحتوي على أخطاء. تتغير المعلومات المتعلقة بالصحة بشكل متكرر ، وبالتالي فإن المعلومات الواردة في هذا الموقع قد تكون قديمة أو غير كاملة أو غير صحيحة.

© 2020 استجابة شبكة برنابي للرعاية الأولية COVID-19.

English Language Learning Resources

 

COVID-19 Resources (Burnaby/ELL Specific)

 

Burnaby Coronavirus - Burnaby Primary Care Networks official COVID-19 page. Information on Burnaby's response strategy, satellite testing and treatment centre, and other items to help local residents deal with the pandemic.
English - Arabic - Chinese - Tagalog

 

Wegotchu (Simon Fraser University) One-stop resource center and FAQ specifically designed to support young people under 30 in navigating their health and social needs during COVID-19.

 

The COVID-19 Health Literacy Project - Translated accessible COVID-19 information into 30+ different languages to help all patients know when, and how, to seek care. Materials are created in collaboration with Harvard Health Publishing. "All of our materials are reviewed and vetted by physicians and medical school faculty members at the Harvard hospitals."

 

Burnaby Public Library Collections

 

Libby & Library2Go (Overdrive)

Download e-book or audiobook titles to read or listen to on a home computer, e-reader or mobile device. This collection has lots of new titles and is available to Burnaby residents only. Once you download the Libby app, Libby will guide you through the setup process and introduce you to all the new features, including access to Burnaby Public Libraries’ entire Overdrive collection. The best part?  It’s all free and there are no late fees! 

All you need is a library card linked to a Burnaby address, an internet connection, and a compatible device.  Libby is available for Android, iOS (iPhone/iPad/iPod touch), and Windows 10. 
Download the Libby app by Overdrive: i
OS | Android
Visit BPL's Teen Collection @ Overdrive: https://burnaby.overdrive.com/library/teens
Access: With a Burnaby Public Library card.

 

Cloud Library

A collection of Graphic Novels, eBooks, classic literature, National Geographic videos, educator resources and audiobooks, perfect for middle school and high school students. It features adjustable online text and complete audio narration. Sentences are highlighted as they are being read and the pages turn automatically. These read along books are great for reluctant readers and also help ESL students develop language skills. Get unlimited access to this fantastic collection today!
Access: With a Burnaby Public Library card.

 

RBdigital

A platform offering over 6,000 downloadable audiobooks (formerly the OneClickdigital collection) and over 400 magazines (formerly the Zinio collection). Download titles to a mobile device using the RBdigital app, or stream on your computer. Create an RBdigital account first before downloading the app, and get support from their website.
Access: With a Burnaby Public Library card.

 

ISSofBC Services​

One on one services

  • First language Information and orientation provision to immigrants and refugees with settlement needs such as application information on MSP, PR card renewal, EI information, CERB, Citizenship requirements etc.  Languages of service include: Arabic, Dari, Farsi, Mandarin, Hindi, Punjabi, Russian, French, Serbo-Croatian and English.

  • Providing Seniors Social support calls by phone or WhatsApp to isolated Arabic and Dari speaking seniors

  • Check in calls to current clients on staff case load.

  • Online Tech mentoring in 1st language for those with technology challenges currently offered in Arabic and English

  • English Conversation Circles online for clients to practice English and connect to others.  

  • Services are provided by phone, smart phone and Zoom

For English language mentoring, social mentoring or tech mentoring please email fatoumata.niane@issbc.org or call the office at 604-395-8000

Office phone hours are 9am to 4:30pm Monday to Friday, www.issbc.org

 

BPL eLearning

Mango Languages

Interactive online language courses available from home and on your mobile device. Mango focuses on everyday, common conversations to enhance vocabulary, pronunciation, grammar and cultural understanding. Choose from among 72 languages, plus ESL courses for speakers of more than 15 different languages. Download our Mango Languages getting started guide [PDF]. Mango Languages can be accessed on a mobile device -- see our Mobile and Apps section for details.

Access: With a Burnaby Public Library card.

 

Lynda.com
Over 3,500 video courses on software development, business, design, photography and more. Certificates of completion available. (Note: Lynda.com can accommodate 150 users at a time. If you're turned away, try again in a little while.)

  • MakerSpace: Tutorials include 3D printing, audio/video editing, using a green screen and more.

  • Photography: lyndaLibrary offers close to 600 photography courses for all skill levels and all aspects including Photoshop, iPhoto and Lightroom, as well as courses on how to fine tune your camera or taking pictures in low light.

  • Computer coding: computer programming and scripting languages for those interested in learning how to code.

Access: With a Burnaby Public Library card.

 

Tense Buster

Tense Buster courses are designed for English language learners at five levels, from beginner to advanced. Includes presentations, exercises, tests and tips to help students improve their reading, writing, listening, speaking, vocabulary and grammar skills. Students learn how to ask questions, make comparisons, and report on what they've heard, in addition to learning how to describe past, present and future events.

Access: In the library and at home with your library card. Limited to three concurrent users.

 

Road to IELTS

Road to IELTS is a comprehensive online preparation course developed by the British Council. The program includes more than 300 interactive activities with instant feedback, plus video tutorials and mock papers. Suitable for English language learners preparing for the IELTS exam, or simply interested in practicing their reading, writing, listening and speaking skills.
Access: With a Burnaby Public Library card. Limited to three concurrent users.

 

Digital Learning Essentials Tip:

 

Remote Learning/Video Conferencing - This handy comparison table gives a complete overview of remote learning tools at a single glance. Compare Key functions, screen sharing, max. attendees, max. duration, compatibility across Zoom, Google meet, Facebook, Youtube, and Microsoft Teams.

Resources for English Language Learning (ELL) Teens

 

 

Vocabulary and Grammar

 

Esl Cyber Listening Lab - This site contains a series of English vocabulary exercises designed to be completed in 20 minutes. Each lesson includes listen and repeat audio, a quiz and a follow-up activity.
 

Easy Vocabulary Quizzes with Pictures: This site offers interactive vocabulary quizzes that ask students to match nouns, verbs and adjectives with pictures.

 

ELC Study Zone: ELC Study Zone is part of the University of Victoria English Language Centre. The site offers vocabulary lists and exercises categorized into subjects including Canadian coins, furniture, and kitchen utensils.

 

Rong Chang: This site is a comprehensive resource for ESL students, presenting test preparation guides, vocabulary lists and games, verb usage and more.

 

TalkEnglish.com: This site offers a number of listening exercises categorized by beginner, intermediate and advanced skill levels. Each lesson includes a quiz, and students have the option of viewing the dialogue while listening.

 


BBC’s Learning English

The BBC provides a roundup of common topics that frustrate non-native English speakers, including lots of tips about vocabulary. Available (bottom right corner) in Afaan Oromoo, Amharic, Brazilian Portuguese, Gujarati, Korean, Tigrinya, Thai and more!

 

 

Writing Resources

English as a Second Language: Jumbled Sentence Exercises: This site allows ESL students to test their word knowledge by rearranging the given words to form a sentence.

English as a Second Language: Dictation Exercises for English Learners: On this page, ESL students can practice their English comprehension by listening to spoken sentences and typing what they hear.

English as a Second Language: Sentence Structure Writing Practice
: This site allows students to test their English comprehension and writing skill by rearranging words to form sentences. Students must not only rearrange the words, but also use proper capitalization and punctuation.

 

 

Apps and Video Resources

ESLvideo
Offers videos for all English levels, with enough varied content to engage and interest students from all walks of life and professions. The best feature about ESLvideo.com is that the content is posted by teachers, for teachers and students. It’s like an ESL video resource co-op. The videos are sorted into five levels from beginner to advanced, but not by topics or content categories. This has its benefits and pitfalls, but it still offers useful video material created by teachers around the world. It also offers video quizzes by teachers and a quiz creator tool, so you can easily make your own video-based quizzes

Duolingo
Many people all over the world use Duolingo for independent language instruction, and you can definitely use it for ELL teaching as well. The English learning version of Duolingo has lessons that integrate conversation, vocabulary, speaking and listening skills. At the end of each section, the user is tested on their skills, and then the results show what parts the user is excelling in and where they could use more practice.
iPhone:
 Duolingo on the Appstore
Android: Duolingo on Google Play

Speak English!
In this unique app, the user listens to recordings of English speakers talking about a span of topics – like job interviews or customer service. After listening to it as many times as they’d like, the user then records themselves repeating the phrase. Finally, the user then gets to audibly compare his or her voice to that of the recording. Speak English! is a really helpful app for getting students to learn and practice enunciation.
iPhone: 
Speak English! on the AppStore
Android: Speak English! on Google Play

Words with Friends
This game is not only good for encouraging word formation. Words With Friends is the fun, free social word game where your word building skills are tested. Players can challenge their friends in word games too.
iPhone: 
Words With Friends on the AppStore
Android: Words With Friends on Google Play

 

 

Be Curious, Be Creative, Be Conscious

Poetry Foundation’s Poetry Tool

Find poems by category, title, first line or occasion and look up poets by name, time period or geograghic area. Listen to audio podcasts of poems and lectures. Mainly American in content and limited in international coverage.

 

Vancouver Writer’s Festival: Youth Writing Contest (DEADLINE: May 29 2020)
Annual youth writing contest is open to all students enrolled in grades 8-12 in British Columbia. Contestants can submit either fiction or non-fiction short stories. Participation is FREE.

 

National Film Board

The National Film Board of Canada’s online Screening Room features more than 3,000 films that you can stream for free or downloaded for your personal use for a small fee.
 

Career Cruising

This interactive career guidance site includes a "career matchmaker" skills assessment tool, occupational profiles and an extensive listing of post-secondary academic and training programs.

Access: In the library or at home with your library card.

 

Google Arts and Culture 

Tours of 500 of the World’s Most Famous Museums including MOMA, the Met, Palace of Versailles, National Gallery of London and many more.

 

Virtual Concerts

 As more festivals, performances and concerts are canceled due to the coronavirus shutdown, musicians of all kinds are taking to social and streaming platforms to play live for their fans.

A list put together by NPR or live audio and video streams from around the world, categorized by date and genre.

 

Do Yoga with Me

Free virtual yoga classes for all different levels.

 

Canva 
Use Canva’s free and easy drag-and-drop feature and layouts to quickly design and share email headers, social media posts, logos, and website graphics. You can cut out the middleman and publish your designs directly to Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, LinkedIn, and more.

 

This information is not a substitute for medical advice, diagnosis or treatment of any health condition or problem. If you have or suspect you are experiencing a medical emergency, dial 911 or visit a hospital Emergency Department in your area. Reliance on any information provided by Burnaby Division of Family Practice appearing on or provided in relation to this website is solely at your own risk. Burnaby Division of Family Practice disclaims any warranty or liability arising from or in connection with the use of this website or any other website to which this site is linked. Your use of third-party websites is at your own risk and subject to the terms and conditions of use for such sites. The information is supplied "as is", "as available" and may contain errors. Health-related information changes frequently and therefore information contained on this website may be outdated, incomplete or incorrect.

©2020 by Burnaby Primary Care Network COVID-19 Response.